Letter to Oreo: What It Feels Like to Leave Home Without You

image

Your daddy said it right – It’s like leaving the house with a boiling kettle on the stove still.

Today I left the house on my own for my overdue check-up with my OB, and I left you behind with your daddy and several bottles of breastmilk. And all I could think of is your chubby face and how warm your body felt like against mine just a while ago when I nursed you, and I dearly hoped you don’t feel my absence as acutely as I do yours. I also hoped you wouldn’t give your daddy too much of a hard time.

So this is how it feels like to have your heart outside your body  And I feel vulnerable knowing that from here on I will always feel this way.

I love you little piglet,

your mommy

Leave a Reply

